History

Located in Clamart, a short train ride away from Montparnasse Station, the Chanot Contemporary Art Centre is a space dedicated to contemporary creative work and open to all. Inaugurated in 1980, what was once an artist’s workshop surrounded by garden became a cosy and convivial exhibition space, perfect for discovering unexpected forms of art.

Keen on new modes of creation, conception, and collaboration, the CACC accompanies current artists and promotes encounters between works and the public. Exploration, artistic experimentation, and risk-taking are at the heart of the Centre’s programming, which integrates different modes of expression. Music, performances, visual arts, and even culinary arts intersect, intermingle, and inflect one another in projects lasting as long as a subtle gesture or a whole exhibition.

Graphic creation constitutes one of the main axes of the Centre’s programme. The “graphic residency” initiative launched in 2013 culminates in a printed artistic work and invites upcoming graphic designers who totally redefine the space’s visual identity over the course of their triennial residency.

Schoolchildren, advanced students, groups, and individuals are invited to participate in workshops, “pedagogy kit” ateliers, a laboratory space, and masterclasses encouraging them to explore the visions, methods, and thought processes of invited artists.

Lastly, as part of the Centre’s artistic programming, meet-and-greets are yet another way of activating the exhibitions and of renewing the various modes of engagement between the public and artists, so that art might always remain synonymous with learning, pleasure, and shared curiosity.

Newsletter

I subscribe!

🌝Team

Director :
• Madeleine Mathé

Artistic project coordinators :
• Vincent Brou, Léa Djurado, Marine Massicot (intern), Kim Reed

Public Reception and Assistance :
• Magalie Tiraboschi

Scholastic Program Coordinator :
• Géraldine Denza

Scholastic Program Assistant :
• Lucie Gricourt (intern)

Youth Mediator :
• Brigitte Andreetti

Visitor Mediators :
• Mélinda Artal, Derin Demircioglu, Estelle Rigal-Gaime

👍Partners

The Chanot Contemporary Art Centre is an apparatus of the city of Clamart.

The CACC is a member of TRAM, the Paris/Île-de-France contemporary art network. It is supported by the Minister of Culture’s Office of Regional Cultural Affairs of the Île-de-France, by the Regional Council of the Île-de-France, by the Greater Paris Metropolitan Area, and by the Departmental Council of the Île-de-France.

Historique

Situé à Clamart, à quelques minutes de la gare Montparnasse, le Centre d’Art Contemporain Chanot est un espace dédié à la création contemporaine ouvert à tous. Inauguré en 1980, cet ancien atelier d’artiste au milieu d’un jardin, devenu espace d’exposition est un lieu intime et convivial propice à la découverte de formes artistiques inattendues.

Attentif aux nouveaux modes de création, d’apparition de la pensée et de partage d’intelligences, le CACC accompagne les artistes actuels et encourage la rencontre entre les œuvres et les publics. Recherche, expérimentation artistique et prise de risques sont au cœur de la programmation du lieu qui croise les modes d’expressions. Musique, performances, arts visuels ou encore arts culinaires se rencontrent, échangent et se nourrissent le temps de projets dont la durée va de l’action furtive à l’exposition.

La création graphique constitue un axe à part entière du programme artistique. « la résidence graphique » initiée en 2013 se déploie en tant que projet artistique imprimé et convie des designers graphiques émergents qui, à l’occasion d’une résidence triennale, refondent totalement l’identité visuelle du lieu.

À destination des scolaires, étudiants, groupes et individuels sont proposés des workshops, ateliers « valises pédagogiques », espace laboratoire, masterclass afin d’explorer le voir, le faire, et le penser auprès d’artistes invités.

Enfin, en lien avec la programmation artistique du lieu, les rendez-vous sont autant de moyens d’activer les expositions et de renouveler les modes de rencontres entre publics et artistes, afin que l’art reste encore et toujours synonyme d’éveil, de plaisir et de curiosité partagée.

Newsletter

Je m’inscris !

🌝Équipe

Direction :
• Madeleine Mathé

Coordination des projets artistiques :
• Vincent Brou, Léa Djurado, Marine Massicot (intern), Kim Reed

Accueil publics et assistance :
• Magalie Tiraboschi

Coordination des dispositifs scolaires :
• Géraldine Denza

Assistance dispositifs scolaires :
• Lucie Gricourt (intern)

Médiation auprès du jeune public :
• Brigitte Andreetti

Médiation auprès du public individuel :
• Mélinda Artal, Derin Demircioglu, Estelle Rigal-Gaime

👍Partenaires

Le Centre d’art contemporain Chanot est un équipement de la ville de Clamart.

Le CACC est membre de TRAM, réseau art contemporain Paris/Île-de-France. Il reçoit le soutien du Ministère de la culture – Direction régionale des affaires culturelles d’Île-de-France, du Conseil Régional d’Île-de-France, de la Métropole du Grand-Paris et du Conseil Départemental des Hauts-de-Seine.

logossoutienscacc2-removebg-1.png